Skip to content

(Healthy) Breakfast-to-Go

August 24, 2015

If you are like me when it comes to breakfast: the struggle is real. I can’t really bear the thought of getting up 15 whole minutes earlier for something as trivial as the most important meal of the day.  So it usually ends up being a granola bar or some other such nonsense.  But this month, during my meat/dairy-limiting endeavor to cut my carbon footprint, I think I stumbled upon something that could prove to be a long-term solution to my breakfast dilemma.  Oatmeal to go! (And no, I’m not talking about these candy bars.)

While the convenience of instant oatmeal packets appealed to me, the excess sugar, preservatives, packaging, and cost did not. So I decided to make my own! My homebrewed oatmeal mix contains…

  • Thin-rolled oats (i.e. ‘quick oats’)
  • Dried fruits (craisens, currents, chopped dates, chopped prunes)
  • Chopped raw nuts (almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts)
  • Toasted salted sunflower seeds
  • Ground flax seed (processed in a cheap coffee grinder – works great!)
  • Cinnamon
  • Sea Salt

…all shaken up in a big container.  I’ll be honest: I’m moving soon and was cleaning out my pantry, this was how I got rid of stuff (my next batch probably won’t contain nearly as much variety…or WILL it?)

Before work in the morning, I…

  • Put a generous half-cup scoop of the mix in a mason jar
  • Pour in about an equal amount of water or milk substitute (I like almond, hazelnut, or hemp milk). Add extra liquid if you like thinner oatmeal.
  • Pour in a small amount of the sweetener of your choice – I use real maple syrup!
  • Screw on the lid and shake.
  • Bring to work, remove lid, heat in microwave, stir
  • Eat (Usually while reading my email. Yes, I’m that person that eats at my desk. Please don’t judge me.)

20150823_120022_00120150823_120631

So my fellow breakfast-strugglers, give this a try, maybe it will work for you too?

Happy eating,

~AMK

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2015 11:56 pm

    Oh, I’ve done similar! Only I put it in the refrigerator over night, and used yogurt instead of milk, because I like my oatmeal really gummy.

  2. Brandon Breen permalink
    August 25, 2015 12:00 am

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

